TOWN OF COWPENS REGULAR COUNCIL MEETING July 17, 2017

The Town of Cowpens held its regular council meeting on Monday, July 17, 2017, at 7:00 p.m. Present were Mayor Michael D. Hamrick, Mayor Pro-Tem Brenda J. Adair, Council Members Roy Logan, and Jarred S. Spencer. Councilman Thomas E. Voelker was absent.

Mayor Hamrick called the meeting to order and Jarred S. Spencer held prayer and included a moment of silence for the families of area residents who had lost loved ones and those who have sickness in their families.

Approval of Agenda

Jarred S. Spencer made a motion to amend and approve the agenda by adding presentations for Retired Chief Ric Makupson and information for the SBA tower lease, second by Brenda J. Adair and carried.

Mayor Hamrick made a presentation honoring Chief Rickey Makupson (Ret.) with Roy Logan accepting the award on his behalf. Mayor Hamrick mentioned Mr. Makupson's dedication to the town and his serving over 36 years with the Cowpens Police Department, with 21 years as chief.

Representative Ed Tallon was also present and had a certificate ready to present Chief Makupson (Ret.). Rep. Tallon congratulated him for more than 36 years of service to the town, with 21 years of those as Chief of Police. Rep. Tallon will present this certificate to Chief Makupson (Ret.) at a later date.

Chief Wayne Meredith introduced new officers for the town: Channa Williams (served with Spartanburg County 911), Tanner Lancaster (served with Spartanburg County Detention Center), Jawarski Shelton (served with Laurens County Sheriff's Office for 16 years). Council welcomed the new officers to the department.

Approval of Minutes & Financial Statements

Brenda J. Adair made a motion to approve the minutes of June 19, 2017, second by Roy Logan and carried.

Brenda J. Adair made a motion to approve the purchase journals, account registers, and monthly bank statements, second by Roy Logan and carried.

Department Reports

The Police Department issued 39 citations (14 speeding tickets were included). Revenue collected was \$2,477.00 and the town's portion was \$879.27. There were 5,179 accumulated on the police vehicles. This number is down from 10,179 last month.

The following was reported for the Cowpens Fire Department: calls in Cowpens-nine; Cowpens Fire District-17 Spartanburg County Mutual Aid -seven; Cherokee County - three.

Old Business

Fire Advisory Board – Chief Blanton had no new information on the Fire Advisory Board. He would like to put this item on the agenda for the next scheduled meeting.

Confined Space Resolution – Chief Blanton will present a resolution at the next meeting.

New Business

Fire Department Budget Adjustments - Jarred S. Spencer made a motion to approve the fire department budget adjustments for 2016-2017, second by Roy Logan and carried.

Town Budget Adjustments 2016-2017 – Jarred S. Spencer made a motion to approve the town budget adjustments for 2016-2017, second by Brenda J. Adair and carried.

Single Member Districts – Roy Logan requested that we place a referendum on the ballot for single member districts. He felt that the citizens would have better representation in their area if we had single member districts.

Jarred S. Spencer stated that he was against single member districts in our small town. We have accomplished a lot of work without having single member district and it has not been an issue. Jarred S. Spencer made a motion to postpone the topic indefinitely, second by Brenda J. Adair and carried. (Three in favor and one opposed, Roy Logan).

Councilman Logan requested that we place the discussion of single member districts on the agenda for the next council meeting.

Cell Tower Lease – Council discussed the cell tower lease. Mayor Hamrick is negotiating with our current provider. Jarred S. Spencer states that we should allow the attorney that is working on our behalf to continue negotiations.

Jarred S. Spencer made a motion to adjourn, second by Roy Logan and carried.

Mayor Michael D. Hamrick

Mayor Pro-Tem Brenda J. Adair

Council Member Roy Logan

Council Member Jarred S. Spencer

Teresa Chadwick, Town Clerk

Attest:

Council Member Thomas E. Voelker